Synchronization

Applies to version: Version 4.0

After configuring SimpleSYN and establishing a connection between SimpleSYN-client and SimpleSYN-server an automatic synchronization starts. It is possible to additionally synchronize user-defined Outlook® folders or elements manually.

Automatic synchronization

All Outlook® folders selected either in the configuration wizard or in the synchronization settings of the SimpleSYN-clients will be synchronized automatically. SimpleSYN monitors the data pool and synchronizes all changes to the data pool automatically.

Example: If the Outlook® folders “Inbox” and “Calendar” are monitored and a new e-mail is received or a new date created, the e-mail or calendar entry will be synchronized automatically.

In the case of no connection being available between SimpleSYN-client and SimpleSYN-server while modifying the Outlook®-data, the data will be synchronized as soon as both SimpleSYN-installations are finished and a connection via the network established.

Folder synchronization

When using the automatic synchronization it is also possible to synchronize all Outlook® subfolders automatically. The Outlook® subfolders will use the same synchronization direction and settings as their parent folder. Changes to the folder hierarchy below a selected folder are being synchronized.

If you change a folder name on SimpleSYN client and SimpleSYN server simultaneously, the SimpleSYN server name will take precedence.

Changes of the selected parent folder are not automatically synchronized. If a selected parent folder is being moved or deleted, the synchronization of this folder and all of its children will stop. Adjust the synchronization settings on your SimpleSYN client in this case

Moved subfolders are being deleted and completely resynchronized on the remote computer Deleted folders are also deleted on the remote side; all data inside the folder will be deleted in this case.

Manual synchronization

Manual synchronization functions the same way as automatic synchronization. However, synchronization will not be triggered by a modification in the data, but only started manually. More information about manual synchronization can be found here.

Initial synchronization of an Outlook® folder

The first synchronization of an Outlook® folder to a defined destination folder is a so-called initial synchronization. During this initial synchronization all selected Outlook® items will be combined into a single data pool. SimpleSYN compares each item and associates equal existing items together. Not existing items are added.

The following synchronizations after the initial synchronization will only adjust modifications that happened since the last synchronization.

The initial synchronization can take some time depending on the size of the affected Outlook® folder.

Deletions will only be synchronized following the initial synchronization. SimpleSYN does not merge items. If an item is already included in both folders but differs slightly in some details, it will be added twice in the folder.