Operation

Category: Operation, Version 3.0, Version 3.5, Version 4.x

If you want to exit SimpleSYN if Outlook is closed, follow these steps:

  1. Right-click on the SimpleSYN icon in the Windows notification area and choose “Exit”
  2. Close any Outlook window
  3. Open the SimpleSYN Add-In configuration file with a text editor like notepad. The configuration file can be found in:
    • Windows: C:\Users\[User name]\AppData\Local\SimpleSYN\4.0.0.0\[Outlook profile name].addin.config
  4. Add the following code in the section between <appSettings> and </appSettings>:
    <!-- SimpleSYN is exited when Outlook is being closed. -->
    <add key="AutoExitSimpleSyn" value="true" />
    <!-- SimpleSYN is started if the Add-In is being loaded. -->
    <add key="AutoStartSimpleSyn" value="true" />
  5. Open Outlook again.

Category: Operation, Version 4.x

The SimpleSYN Business Version 4 installs a Windows service. If the option "Start as Windows service" is activated in the options, then SimpleSYN automatically starts in the background when the Windows starts, without a Windows user having to log on to the system.

The SimpleSYN standard version 4 and all older versions do not support Windows service. The synchronization takes place here only if a user is logged on to the computer and SimpleSYN is executed.

Category: Operation, Version 3.0, Version 3.5, Version 4.x

To call up the Configuration Wizard again, please follow these steps:

  1. Open the SimpleSYN user interface
  2. Press the “Alt“ key to show the SimpleSYN menu 
  3. In the menu under “Help” activate the entry “Show Configuration Wizard on next startup“
  4. Exit SimpleSYN. To do so right-click on the SimpleSYN symbol in the Windows system tray and choose “Exit”

The next time SimpleSYN is opened the configuration window will be displayed again.

Category: Operation, Version 4.x

We recommend using only POP3 accounts for synchronizing e-mail.

With IMAP accounts your emails are server based and already synchronized between all your devices. Therefore SimpleSYN will only show none-email folders and will not let you create email folders. You can use SimpleSYN for synchronizing the other items, like contacts, appointments and notes.

Category: Operation, Version 3.5, Version 4.x

When using the automatic synchronization it is also possible to synchronize all Outlook® subfolders automatically. The Outlook® subfolders will use the same synchronization direction and settings as their parent folder. Changes to the folder hierarchy below a selected folder are being synchronized.

Changes of the selected parent folder are not automatically synchronized. If a selected parent folder is being moved or deleted, the synchronization of this folder and all of its children will stop. Adjust the synchronization settings

Category: Operation, Version 4.x

E-mail folders (for example, Inbox) of IMAP accounts are not displayed by default in the synchronization settings.

An IMAP account is server-based and keeps your e-mail automatically in sync.An additional synchronization of the e-folders is therefore no longer necessary.

In the SimpleSYN main window under Options> Advanced Options you can activate the option "Show IMAP folder" as required. However, if you enable this feature and select Email Folders to sync, duplicate emails may appear after syncing.

Therefore, we recommend that you do not synchronize your e-mail folders with SimpleSYN!

Of course, since an IMAP account can only keep email folders up-to-date, you can still sync all other folders such as calendars, contacts, tasks, and notes with SimpleSYN.

Category: Operation, Version 2.0, Version 2.1, Version 3.0, Version 3.5, Version 4.x

If a computer is not reachable over network or Internet, then the synchronization is carried out as soon as the computer is back in the network or online and SimpleSYN has established a connection with the SimpleSYN server.

All Outlook items that were changed or created up to that point are automatically recognized and synchronized by SimpleSYN.

Category: Operation, Version 3.5, Version 4.x

If SimpleSYN is not run on one or more computers or if the computers are not connected via local network or Internet, synchronization conflicts can occur if:

  • an Outlook item is changed on multiple computers
  • an Outlook item is changed on one computer and deleted on another

SimpleSYN offers you several ways of manually resolving synchronization conflicts in the user interface under the menu point “Conflicts”. The overview lists all known conflicts. Double-click on an entry and specify in the next window how SimpleSYN should resolve the conflict. Here you have a choice of:

  • Use client item:
    uses the item from the client list, changes on the server computer are overwritten
  • Use server item:
    uses the item from the server list, changes on the client computer are overwritten
  • Copy item:
    the item is only copied and both items are saved. Please note that only the item is duplicated
  • Do not synchronize:
    the item is not synchronized. Both versions of the item are saved and treated equal. Please note: If one of the items is then changed the other item will be overwritten.

If the item is deleted on one of the computers you have the option of keeping the change or deleting the item.

Alternatively, you have the option of letting SimpleSYN resolve the conflicts automatically.

Category: Operation, Version 2.0, Version 2.1, Version 3.0, Version 3.5, Version 4.x

The synchronization is not carried out in specific intervals, but rather as needed. As soon as the SimpleSYN client and SimpleSYN server have a connection the synchronization is carried out continuously and virtually in real-time.  After the initial synchronization only changes to the Outlook database are exchanged. The Outlook synchronization runs unobtrusively in the background.

It is also possible to manually synchronize single Outlook items or folders using the SimpleSYN Outlook-Add-In. Here the synchronization is also carried out as soon as SimpleSYN has established a connection.

Example: If a new e-mail is received, an existing e-mail is changed, deleted of moved, SimpleSYN will immediately synchronize this action on all computers. SimpleSYN checks if the target folder already contains the e-mail. If the e-mail does not exist it is synchronized into the folder. If the e-mail already exists it will only be synchronized if a change has occurred. If the target computer is not reachable, the e-mail is synchronized as soon as the computer establishes a connection over the local network.

Category: Operation, Version 4.x

You can limit the access the SimpleSYN server gets to certain Outlook folders. Follow these steps:

  1. Switch to your SimpleSYN client computer
  2. Click on the menu point “Synchronization Settings“
  3. Click on “Advanced Client Settings“
  4. Activate the check box  “Restrict available folders to selected folders“

Then choose in the folder list which folders the server can have access to. To do so check the check boxes next to the folders.