Synchronization settings

Applies to version: Version 4.0

In this area it is possible to configure in detail the method of synchronization. The options under “Synchronization settings” are differing depending on whether SimpleSYN has been configured as a SimpleSYN-server or a SimpleSYN-client.

All modifications will only be adopted after a click on “Save”. Click on “Back” or leave the options through another menu point to discard made modifications to the settings.

The computer has been configured as a SimpleSYN-client

If SimpleSYN is configured as a SimpleSYN-client the synchronization settings show the configuration of the automatic synchronization.

On the left hand side is the folder structure of the client computer, on the right hand side the structure of the SimpleSYN-server. Check all Outlook® folders that are supposed to be synchronized automatically.

Modifications in the marked Outlook® folders are being monitored by SimpleSYN and automatically synchronized.

Selection of the Outlook® folders for automatic synchronization

Should only the note “No folder information is currently available” be shown, follow the instructions for problem solving sy

Image 1: synchronization settings

Selection of an Outlook® folder either on the client or the server side leads to automatic marking of the currently selected or automatically attributed target folder on the according other folder list. In this way it is always possible to see which folders are being synchronized with each other.

Click on the checkbox in front of the desired Outlook® folder on the client or the server side to select the Outlook® folder for automatic synchronization. The arrows inside the checkbox designate the synchronization direction. Click several times on the checkbox to select the synchronization direction.

The Outlook® folder is synchronized in both directions from the SimpleSYN-client towards the SimpleSYN-server and from the SimpleSYN-server towards the SimpleSYN-client.
The Outlook® folder is only synchronized from the SimpleSYN-client towards the SimpleSYN-server.
The Outlook® folder is only synchronized from the SimpleSYN-server towards the SimpleSYN-client.

It is also possible to drag an Outlook® folder from the client or the server side onto another folder per Drag & Drop to designate the synchronization in both directions.

SimpleSYN automatically selects the most appropriate target folder. Before saving your settings, make sure the right target folders are selected. Select a checked folder on either the cli ent or server folder list to see the actual target folder on the other folder list

If a folder is selected on the client or server side that does not exist on the opposite side this folder will be automatically created by SimpleSYN and shown with a “plus” symbol until the first synchronization. New folders can only be created automatically if SimpleSYN allows this.

Subfolders of a checked Outlook® folder will be synchronized with the same synchronization direction and settings. Changes to the subfolder hierarchy will also be synchronized by default (new, renamed and deleted subfolders).

If you do not want to synchronize all subfolders, right click on the folder to open a context menu. Disable the menu item “Synchronize subfolders”.

Context menu

Right click an Outlook® folder to obtain more configuration possibilities. The context menu allows detailed specifications which method of synchronization to use.

Image 2: shortcut menu

Synchronization type
Here it is possible to indicate the synchronization direction. The synchronization direction is also being shown through arrows in the checkbox in front of the according folder.

Target…
Lets you manually select the target folder for the synchronization. Select the target folder for synchronization in the following dialog.

Image 3: select target folder

Click on “New…” to create a new Outlook® folder on the target computer

New target folders can only be created if generation of Outlook® folders is allowed on the opposite side. More information can be found under security here.

Image 4: create new folder

Synchronize subfolders
If activated, subfolders will be automatically created, renamed and deleted. The subfolders will be synchronized with the same synchronization direction and settings as the configured parent folder.

Synchronize new items
If activated every new item in this folder is synchronized.

Synchronize changed items
If activated every modified item in this folder is synchronized.

Synchronize deleted item
If activated deleted items are also deleted in the target folder.

Only deletions of previously synchronized Outlook® items are synchronized.

Synchronizing read state
If activated the read status of an item is synchronized.

New folder…
Here it is possible to create new folders.

Refresh
Reloads the folder list. Click on “Refresh” to adopt newly created or deleted folders. The click on “Refresh” on the server side of the folder list initializes the exchange of folder information. For this a SimpleSYN-server needs to available.

Filter…

The filter function is only available in the SimpleSYN business version.

Click on “Filter…” to filter the synchronization of the folder. In this way it is possible to exclude private items from the synchronization. More information about the filters can be found here.

The computer has been configured as a SimpleSYN-server

If SimpleSYN is configured as a SimpleSYN-server more information about the synchronization settings can be found in the chapter “Set available Outlook® folders” here.