Filter

Applies to version: Version 4.0

The filter function is only available in the SimpleSYN business version.

The SimpleSYN business version additionally allows you to filter the Outlook® folders that are being synchronized. This allows exclusion of private elements from synchronization.

To set a filter open SimpleSYN and select the point “Synchronization Settings”. Right click the Outlook® folder to be filtered and select the menu entry “Filter…”.

Filter can either be set on the uppermost layer of a data store (for example PST-files) or onto specific folders. If a filter is being set on the uppermost layer it applies to all subfolders that do not have their own filter settings. Other filters are not inherited by subfolders.

The following dialog allows detailed settings of which items are to be synchronized. All items not specified by the given rules would not be synchronized.

Image 1: Filter settings

If an Outlook® folder, or the uppermost layer of the folders, has been allocated a filter it will be marked with an exclamation mark in the synchronization settings.

Abbildung 2: Folder with allocated filter

Different filter settings in source and target folder

If the filters of the Outlook® source and target folders are regulated differently unanticipated behaviour might be the result. Adhere to the following constraints.

New items of an unfiltered Outlook® folder are being synchronized with a filtered Outlook® folder even if these items are subject to filter regulations in the target folder. All subsequent modifications of the elements are not being synchronized anymore.

If items are being synchronized out of an unfiltered Outlook® folder into a filtered Outlook® folder and these items are subject to filter regulations duplicates might occur if the filtered target folder already contains said items.

SimpleSYN is not able to know whether a deleted item was subject to filter regulations when synchronizing. If the items have already been synchronized, for example before the filter had been set or out of an unfiltered Outlook® folder, the deletion will be synchronized into the filtered Outlook® folder even if the deleted item was subject to the filter regulations.

To avoid this behaviour define the same filter regulations for source and target folder.

Pause the synchronization while modifying the filter regulations to rule out unwanted synchronizations. Information about pausing the synchronization can be found here.

Filter settings

The following options for filtering an Outlook® folder or a data store are available.

If the parent data store has an allocated filter the checkbox “Inherit from parent store” is activated. Deactivate the checkbox “Inherit from parent store” if the regulations of the uppermost layer are to be overwritten. Click onto “Reset” to delete the inherited regulations.

Click on “OK” to apply the regulations or on “Cancel” to discard the modifications.

The modifications of filter regulations are only applied after saving of the synchronization settings. This allows for filter regulation of several folders.

Several filter options have the option “Exclude items”. If this option is selected, found items are excluded from the synchronization.

Filter options

Search for the word(s)
Searches for the search terms in the fields specified under “In”. Only items containing the search terms in the specified fields are synchronized.

From
Only items sent by the persons specified under “From…” are synchronized.

Click onto “From…” to open the address book.

Sent to
Only items sent to the specified persons under “Sent to…” are synchronized.

Click onto “Sent to…” to open the address book.

Organized by
Only appointments organized by the specified persons under “Organized by…” are synchronized.

Click onto “Organized by…” to open the address book.

Attendees
Only appointments having the specified persons as attendees stated under “Attendees…” are synchronized.

Click onto “Attendees…” to open the address book.

E-mail
Only contacts having an e-mail address specified under “E-mail…” are synchronized.

Click onto “E-mail…” to open the address book.

Contact
Only journal entries allocated to a specified contact are synchronized.

Click onto “Contact…” to open the address book.

Status
Only tasks having the specified status are synchronized.

Journal type
Only journal entries having the specified type are synchronized.

Where I am
Only items having the specified criteria from the list are synchronized.

Time
Only items conforming to the specified time criteria are synchronized.

More Choices

Image 3: Further filter options

Categories
Only items in a specified category are synchronized.

Click on “Categories…” to select the categories.

Image 4: Select categories

Only items with
Only items with attachments or items without attachments are synchronized.

Whose importance is
Only items with the specified priority are synchronized.

Whose confidentiality is
Only items with the specified confidentiality are synchronized.

Labels
Only items with the specified labels are synchronized.

Case sensitive search
If the checkbox “Case sensitive search” is activated all text input is searched in the entered spelling. Otherwise case sensitivity is

Size
Only items in the specified size are synchronized.