Synchronization conflicts

Applies to version: Version 4.0

Synchronization conflicts occur when Outlook® items assigned to each other have been modified on two or more computers without being synchronized in between the different modifications. A conflict also occurs when an Outlook® item is being modified on one computer and deleted on another.

SimpleSYN provides several possibilities to handle synchronization conflicts. If set to default settings synchronization conflicts have to be handled manually.

It is possible to have synchronization conflicts solved automatically by SimpleSYN. More information can be found here.

If one or more conflicts occur during synchronization, a notification will appear in the Windows® notification area.

Image 1: conflicts have occurred

SimpleSYN provides several possibilities to solve synchronization conflicts manually under the menu point “Conflicts”. All found conflicts are listed in the overview. Double click on an entry and specify in the opened window how SimpleSYN is to solve this conflict.

Right click a conflict to open a context menu. This allows opening the Outlook® item, refreshing the list or restoring an already solved conflict. In this way it is possible to solve a conflict with different settings.

Solved conflicts are being hidden from the list in default settings even if they have not been synchronized yet.

Image 2: List of synchronization conflicts

It is impossible to solve the conflict if it is supposed to be handled differently on several computers. Conflicts supposed to be solved differently on several computers are being marked with a red cross on the list.

 Conflict, no solution specified
 Conflict solved but not synchronized yet
 Conflict solved differently on several computers and unable to be synchronized

Modification conflict

A modification conflict occurs when an Outlook® item has been modified on two or more computers at the same time.

Modifications of an Outlook® item are all actions during which an item of Outlook® is being saved. These can also for example be modifications on the reminder of a date.

Image 3: dialog of conflict solution

To solve a conflict, select on of the following points:

Keep item from client

Saves the item from the SimpleSYN client, modifications on the SimpleSYN server are being overwritten.

Keep item from server

Saves the item from the SimpleSYN server, modifications on the SimpleSYN client are being overwritten.

Keep both items

The item is being copied and both modifications are being saved. This results in duplication of the item.

Do not synchronize

The item is not being synchronized. Both versions of the item are being saved and handled as equals.

Should one of the items be modified again, the other item is going to be overwritten. This may lead to data loss.

Deletion conflict

A deletion conflict occurs when an Outlook® item is being deleted on one computer and modified on another.

Modifications of an Outlook® item are all actions during which an item of Outlook® is being saved. These can also for example be modifications on the reminder of a date.

Image 4: Dialog of conflict solution

To solve the conflict, select one of the following points:

Keep item

The modifications are being retained and the item is not being deleted.

Delete item

The modifications are being discarded and the deletion synchronized.