• Introduction

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    Welcome to SimpleSYN. We are delighted with your decision to use the modern and high-performance Outlook® synchronisation with SimpleSYN. SimpleSYN enables you to synchronise your Outlook® data on all your Windows® computers in a fast and easy way and allows you therefore to always work with your most up-to-date data such as e-mails, appointments and contacts.

  • Security advice

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    SimpleSYN works directly with your Outlook® data, including synchronisation of deletions. Backup your Outlook® data before the initial synchronization and afterwards in regular intervals.

  • Installation

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    Administrator rights are needed for the installation of SimpleSYN.

    SimpleSYN has to be installed on all computers to be synchronised with each other.

    The installation of SimpleSYN requires only a few steps. A wizard will guide you through the installation. The installation of SimpleSYN checks in advance whether Microsoft® .NET Framework 4 is installed. In the case of non-availability it will be downloaded from the Internet. The installation of .NET Frameworks might require a reboot of the computer. The setup of SimpleSYN will be continued afterwards. Should the setup not continue automatically after the reboot, restart the setup manually.

    To install SimpleSYN on your computer, follow these steps:

    1. Start the computer on which SimpleSYN is to be installed
    2. Download SimpleSYN from www.simplesyn.net
    3. Start the installation of SimpleSYN with a double click on the downloaded setup file (“SimpleSYN.exe”, “SimpleSYN_Business.exe”)
    4. Follow the installation instructions

    Upgrade

    An existing SimpleSYN installation will be replaced by the installation of SimpleSYN 4.0.

    How to Unistall

    To remove SimpleSYN from the computer, close Outlook® and SimpleSYN. To uninstall open the Windows Control Panel and select “Uninstall a program”. Search the entry “SimpleSYN 4.0” and click on “Remove” or “Uninstall”.

  • Trial version

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    The trial version of SimpleSYN is useable without restrictions for 30 days. During the trial a dialog indicating the remaining time opens when starting SimpleSYN.

  • Set-up

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    SimpleSYN will have to be set up once before SimpleSYN can be used for synchronization. SimpleSYN contains a configuration wizard which will guide you through the steps necessary to set-up SimpleSYN. Alternatively, manual configuration of SimpleSYN is possible. More information about the settings can be found here.

  • Synchronization

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    After configuring SimpleSYN and establishing a connection between SimpleSYN-client and SimpleSYN-server an automatic synchronization starts. It is possible to additionally synchronize user-defined Outlook® folders or elements manually.

  • SimpleSYN notification area symbol

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    The notification area on the Windows® taskbar shows the SimpleSYN notification area symbol. Closing the SimpleSYN main window does not end SimpleSYN but minimizes it to the notification area. The synchronization status can always be read from the different symbols.

  • SimpleSYN main window

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    To open the SimpleSYN main window, start SimpleSYN and double click onto the SimpleSYN symbol in the Windows® notification area. Alternatively right click the symbol and select “Open SimpleSYN”.

  • Status

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    There is a permanently available status overview under the menu entry “Status”. It shows which Outlook® folder are actually being synchronized in which direction.

  • Synchronization conflicts

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    Synchronization conflicts occur when Outlook® items assigned to each other have been modified on two or more computers without being synchronized in between the different modifications. A conflict also occurs when an Outlook® item is being modified on one computer and deleted on another.

  • Options

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    In this area it is possible to change settings set in the configuration wizard and to adapt SimpleSYN to your personal needs.

  • Synchronization settings

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    In this area it is possible to configure in detail the method of synchronization. The options under “Synchronization settings” are differing depending on whether SimpleSYN has been configured as a SimpleSYN-server or a SimpleSYN-client.

  • Security

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    SimpleSYN is very concerned by the security of your Outlook® data. The communication of SimpleSYN is always highly encrypted. SimpleSYN uses TLS and SSL respectively to secure the connection between the SimpleSYN client and server.

  • Filter

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    The filter function is only available in the SimpleSYN business version.

    The SimpleSYN business version additionally allows you to filter the Outlook® folders that are being synchronized. This allows exclusion of private elements from synchronization.

  • Manual synchronization

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    After setting SimpleSYN up and establishing a connection between SimpleSYN-client and SimpleSYN-server it is possible to manually synchronize individual Outlook® items or complete Outlook® folders at any time via the additional SimpleSYN Outlook® Add-in. The Outlook® folders do not have to be selected for automatic synchronization.

  • Tools

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    SimpleSYN cannot only perfectly synchronize Outlook® but offers additional powerful features. These can be found in the SimpleSYN menu which is directly integrated into Outlook® in the submenu “Tools” or respectively in the SimpleSYN-ribbon in Outlook® 2010.

  • Automatic updates

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    SimpleSYN checks in default settings once daily whether a newer version of SimpleSYN is available. If a newer version of SimpleSYN is available, SimpleSYN notifies with a signal. If authorized to install it is possible to automatically install the SimpleSYN update. Otherwise a manual download and installation of the new version is necessary.

  • Support

    Applies to version: Version 4.0

    The SimpleSYN team is interested in providing a fully functional product. If you should despite our entire effort encounter a problem we would be pleased if you would contact us. This allows for elimination of the problem with the next update and perfecting of SimpleSYN for you. Before contacting the support please follow the instructions: